The Boys School of Denver – Leadership

Dorian Bennett

Head of School

dorian.bennett@boysdenver.org

Felicia Soifer

Director of Instruction

felicia.soifer@boysdenver.org

Originally from Los Angeles, Felicia graduated from University of Colorado, Boulder with a degree in Sociology. After college, she moved to New York City, where she taught for nine years and received her Master's degree in Elementary Education and Curriculum from City College, City University New York. Felicia came to GALS after working for various educational non-profits as a freelance writer. She taught 6th grade language arts for two years at GALS before becoming the Director of Academics. When not working, Felicia spends all her time playing in beautiful Colorado with her amazing family, husband Josiah, their two boys Jackson and Spencer, and the family dogs, Harlem and Renaissance.

Tony Pigford

Leadership Team

tony.pigford@boysdenver.org

Tony is a fourth generation Denver native and third generation product of Denver Public Schools. He is thrilled to have joined The Boys School of Denver as the Dean of Students! Tony joined the movement in 2016 and has served as a Dean, 7th Grade wellness coach, and movement coach at GALS. He comes to the organization from his position as a Student Voice and Leadership Coordinator at Denver Public Schools, where he coordinated the Student Board of Education and Challenge 5280. Tony coached boys varsity basketball for four years at his alma mater, Thomas Jefferson High School. It was there that he gained his passion for youth leadership and development. He attended Florida A&M University where he studied Business Administration and Theatre. Tony loves to travel, play golf, ski, and spend time with his wife, family, and friends.

BOYS Staff

Fleur Alvarez

Paraprofessional

fleur.alvarez@boysdenver.org

Ismael Alvarez

Front Office Manager

ismael.alvarez@boysdenver.org

Ismael "Ish" Alvarez grew up in El Paso, Texas, before moving up to Colorado and attending the Community College of Denver. He is a secretary with 15 years of experience in education doing office work, helping family communities, and doing Spanish translation. Ismael enjoys spending time with his 5 children as well as tabletop gaming.

Elizabeth Bailey

6th Grade BOYS Series

elizabeth.bailey@boysdenver.org

David Bennett

7th Grade BOYS Series

david.bennett@boysdenver.org

David Bennett Jr. will be joining the BOYS school as the 7th grade Boys Series teacher. David has 15 years in education and this will be his first year in the classroom. He spent the last 8 years as student advisor and Dean at an elementary, middle school and high school. David graduated from University of Northern Colorado with a Bachelors of Arts degree. David brings passion, energy, and a positive perspective providing a role model for young students. The new generation student, needs a new generation guide; teacher, who thinks outside the box and David Bennett Jr is that teacher. David is grateful for GALS starting the GALS series curriculum. It is David’s duty to help prepare our youth for the world.

Lindsay Cocos

6th Grade Social Studies

lindsay.cocos@boysdenver.org

Lindsay is entering her 8th year of teaching middle school. She grew up in Elizabeth, Colorado and attended the University of Colorado at Boulder where she studied History. She earned her teaching license and MA in Curriculum and Instruction from the University of Denver. Her favorite part of teaching is when students start to see real world applications of concepts they learn in social studies. When she isn't teaching, she loves to perform with the Broncos Stampede band, travel, and spend time with her husband and kids.

Emily Felsenthal

6th Grade Math

emily.felsenthal@boysdenver.org

Emily is entering her 7th year of teaching and could not be more excited to be joining the BOYS team as the 6th grade math teacher. In 2010 Emily got her BA in Spanish and Peace + Justice Studies from Villanova University (Go Nova!), and taught in St. Louis, Chicago and Los Angeles before moving to Denver in July. As her students will tell you, Emily loves traveling, her Villanova Wildcats, top hats, hiking and math!

Michael Lamond

6th Grade Language Arts

michael.lamond@boysdenver.org

​Mike is originally from Buffalo, NY. He has spent the last 18 years teaching all ages in some pretty interesting places. He ended up in Colorado 12 years ago and doesn't intend to leave. When not teaching, Mike also spends time coaching basketball, baseball, and soccer. When out of the school environment completely, you'll probably find him running or hanging out with his wife and 2 year old son.

Todd Matuszewicz

7th Grade Science

todd.matuszewicz@boysdenver.org

Hannah Miller

6th Grade Science

hannah.miller@boysdenver.org

Hannah is overjoyed to be teaching science at The Boys School of Denver! She has spent the past two years teaching math at GALS and is excited to join The Boys School team. Hannah graduated from Augustana University in Sioux Falls, South Dakota with a BA in Elementary Education and an endorsement in Middle School Science. This past year Hannah received her Masters is Educational Leadership from Regis University. She was born and raised in Minnesota, but now calls Colorado home. Before GALS, Hannah was selected as a Nobel Peace Prize Scholar and later participated in Teachers Ready for Peace, a 6-week graduate course in India. She has spent time teaching abroad in Slovakia and Tanzania as well as 4th grade in Sioux Falls. Outside of the classroom, Hannah can be found enjoying this beautiful state. She spends her free time hiking, biking, getting lost, skiing, gardening and adventuring with her family and friends. Teaching is her passion and she hopes to ignite curiosity within all of her students.

Jamal Rankins

6th Grade Social Studies

jamal.rankins@boysdenver.org

Jamal is excited to learn and share with the latest class of 6th graders at The Boys School. Jamal comes to teach 6th grade Social Studies at The Boys School after recent experiences with McAuliffe Manual Middle School, and DSST Henry Middle School. Besides learning in and out of the classroom Jamal is stoked to share his love of team sport with students of Boys and GALS. When Jamal is not in the classroom he can be found running around town on a motorcycle, enjoying time with his niece and nephews, playing team sports, swimming for fun and fitness, and making things up on stage in search of levity with his improv comedy troupe. Finally Jamal plays a mean game of Mario Kart on Nintendo Switch.

John Santy

7th Grade Math

john.santy@boysdenver.org

Kylie Shields

Athletic Director

kylie.shields@galsdenver.org

Andrew Vandal

7th Grade Language Arts

andrew.vandal@boysdenver.org

Student Support Team

Nicole Brodeur

School Psychologist

nicole.brodeur@boysdenver.org

Gabriel Cannon

Counselor

gabriel.cannon@boysdenver.org

Gabriel Cannon, Counselor at The Boys School, has worked with youth, young adults, and families for over 20 years. Gabriel received his undergraduate degree in Human Development and Adventure Education from Prescott College and his graduate degree in Counseling Psychology from Pacifica Graduate Institute. Gabriel has worked in both clinical settings and wilderness-based programs, and he is passionate about helping young people transition through adolescence into healthy adulthood.

Karen Davidson

Director of Special Education

karen.davidson@galsdenver.org

Julie Dolin MA, LPC, BC-DMT

Director of Counseling & Wellness

julie.dolin@galsdenver.org

Tami McGuan

Special Education

tami.mcguan@boysdenver.org

Randall Nigohosian

Special Education

randall.nigohosian@boysdenver.org

Randall is delighted and honored to be joining the Boys School of Denver team. He is a Rhode Island native and was raised in Utah. Randall graduated summa cum laude from Westminster College in Salt Lake City with a Bachelor of Arts degree in Elementary Education with a Special Education endorsement. He has lived in China teaching English to children and working with college students as an English tutor. Randall received the Teacher of the Year Award while working at a school for students with special needs here in Denver.